At the start of February, over 800 cyclists from across KwaZulu-Natal participated in the Subaru-Jowetts MTB Classic at Cedara College, just outside Howick. XtraSpace was proud to be represented at the event as sponsor of the Race Organisers Admin Group (ROAG).


Subaru-Jowetts MTB Classic Subaru-Jowetts MTB Classic


Now in its eighth year, the Subaru-Jowetts MTB Classic proved an excellent way for mountain bike enthusiasts from across the province to kick off the 2015 racing season. The route for the main event, a gruelling 45-kilometre race, was designed by Nic Floris, who made sure there were plenty of technical challenges. With long stretches of single track, cyclists had to stay sharp while testing their physical limits.


Nabbing top places in the race were Julian Jessop (2:06:55), Tyronne White (2:07:06) and John Ntuli (02:10:33) – and for the women, Jeannie Bomford (02:29:35), Natalie Bergstrom (02:34:16) and Carla Van Huyssteen. Well done.


The day also featured a less challenging (although still pretty tough!) 25-kilometre race, with plenty of uphill work and sections of single track, and a more relaxed 10-kilometre fun ride for families.


Inspiring youth racer, Gage Hansson, won the 25-kilometre race by an impressive margin of five minutes, with a time of 01:14:08. He was followed by Wouter Jordaan (01:19:18) and Bradly Sander (01:19:23), and, in the women’s category, Beanie Thies (01:19:47), Sarah Ryan (01:29:12) and Cynthia Ramsay (01:29:21).


XtraSpace is an avid supporter of South African sports clubs and sporting events such as the Subaru-Jowetts MTB Classic. We believe that sport brings out the best in our country’s young people, as well as being a source of inspiration and fun for all of us.

Contact us